Some Halloween Living Room Touches…

This was my first year decorating for Halloween and I decided that I wanted my color scheme to be black, gray and deep red as my accent color (rather than orange or purple which seems to be popular now). I chose red because I don’t decorate with red for Christmas at all and I have alot of orange already going on in my basic fall/Thanksgiving decor.

So here is BEFORE I transitioned to Halloween Decor.

Before the Halloween Transformation
Before the Halloween Transformation
After Halloween Decor
After Halloween Decor
After Halloween Decor
After Halloween Decor

What did I change? I added some faux spider webs (from The Dollar Store). The plush red throw on the chair is actually something I used to have at the foot of my bed back in my college days that I recently found in a box in my garage!! The yellow pillows have been on my couch before. I switched them to this space because I thought the yellow on the couch was a little to “happy” for a Halloween couch. I thought the gray pillows that were on these chairs were a better fit for Halloween on my couch since my couch is more of a focal point than this space. The skeleton is a pose and stay skeleton (so it can stand up and you can lock the arms into place and whatnot). I bought this one at Costco this season and it was $38-$39 I believe. It was the cheapest one I’ve seen so far so I snapped it up. The black crow that is perched on the skeleton’s shoulders was bought this season at The Dollar Store. There are small wires on the feet that allowed me to secure it. I don’t have children or pets that will bother the skeleton at all so that small bit of wire was fine for me but if I did have children in the house I would have used more floral wire than what came on the crow. I really want to find a top hat for the skeleton and put a deep red feather in it but I didn’t put the effort in this year to look for one. Maybe next year! On the dresser in front of the candles is a burlap stuffed pumpkin that I got for one penny last year at Michael’s on clearance. I don’t actually like the pumpkin because it has ugly painted designs on it but I figured for 1cent that I could probably sell it for more than that at a garage sale and since I needed something small for that space why not use it? You can actually barely see the painted designs on it with the dark lighting in my room anyway so it’s fine.

Then just yesterday I decided to add this knitted cheesecloth type thing that I bought at The Dollar Store onto the dresser.

Added this Cheesecloth to the dresser.
Added this Cheesecloth to the dresser.

I was slightly disappointed with this skeleton. I was under the impression that I could pose him in more diverse positions. I really wanted to make him cross his legs and pose him holding a newspaper with one of those old timey cigarettes in his hand or holding a martini glass but the joints don’t really work like a socket works. They only move back and forth rather than rotating so I was only able to sit him like this or stand him up basically. Oh well. We can’t have everything right?!

Leave a Reply

