New Kitchen Paint Color: Oyster Shell

I recently painted my kitchen. In case you don’t remember here is a picture of some of the different paint colors I was deciding between. In person each of these colors are very similar to one another and unless you were in really good lighting deciphering the difference between them might be difficult. Each was only slightly different, more green, more blue, more red etc. I was going for a color that would be relatively neutral as I like to change my decor and table settings often. However, I didn’t want Plain Jane tan. I also wanted to pick a color with a depth of saturation; one that was pretty dark as far as paint colors go because I think dark paint colors add drama to a room.

I picked the top swatch of paint for the kitchen.
I picked the top swatch of paint for the kitchen.

I picked the color on the top: Oyster Shell. It’s a funny color. Sort of green, sort of taupe and sort of gray. Depending on the time of day and lighting it looks a little different. Here is what my kitchen looked like BEFORE. This is the yellowish tan the builder painted throughout our entire house (that we didn’t pick). I’ve lived with it until now because I had a hard time deciding what I wanted to do.

Spring/Summer Kitchen Decor 2014
Spring/Summer Kitchen Decor 2014
Wall Art from Home Goods
Wall Art from Home Goods
Hobby Lobby Candlesticks
Hobby Lobby Candlesticks
Hobby Lobby Decor
Hobby Lobby Decor

And here’s what the kitchen looks like newly painted. I carried the paint into the entry off of the garage which is connected to my kitchen.

New Paint Color: Oyster Shell
New Paint Color: Oyster Shell
New Paint Color: Oyster Shell
New Paint Color: Oyster Shell
New Paint Color: Oyster Shell
New Paint Color: Oyster Shell
DSC_0844

I had alot of questions from people about how I was going to stop the kitchen paint color without continuing it into the foyer. My foyer and my kitchen sort of share some walls. The most logical thing for me to do was to stop when the wall ended.

How I Stopped the Paint from Continuing into the Foyer
How I Stopped the Paint from Continuing into the Foyer
So in this picture I painted the wall along the ceiling on the side facing the kitchen and the underside of it. The wall with my collage frames in the foyer is the original builder paint which I didn’t change. The wall that my kitchen pantry is on is painted. This picture also helps demonstrate how much DARKER the new paint is from the original color. I am absolutely in LOVE with it. It looks so much richer in there. It’s hard to tell in the pictures because the flash makes it look a little lighter than it looks in person.

This wall is mostly in my kitchen so this wall did get painted the kitchen color. DSC_0854

What do you think?? Not to shabby! I actually like the color so much I almost wish I painted the living room the same color lol.

One thought on “New Kitchen Paint Color: Oyster Shell”

  1. A very sophisticated color with a lot of nuance. Good choice. You might need to leave a few pearls lying about so it doesn’t feel lonely. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music.

Leave a Reply

