Some Mulch and Mums :)

I’ve been dying to get out to Eastern Market (in Detroit) this year but my hubby has had alot going on lately and we haven’t been able to go. Unfortunately they’re only open on Saturday mornings. Basically it’s an open air market where lots of vendors from all around Michigan come and sell homemade foods, locally grown produce/plants and flowers, as well as organic meats and seafoods etc. Anyway, I always get amazing deals on Mums there and despite living surrounded by TONS of farms it’s still much cheaper to buy them there. Not only are they cheap but they’re HUUUUUGE for their price. Last year I paid $5 for a mum plant I would have paid over $20 for anywhere else near my home.

So, since hubby hasn’t been able to go with me (and I’m not driving to Detroit by myself) I had to get my fix at Home Depot. Their mulch was on sale 4 for $10 which I needed to fill in this area next to my patio that we turned into a flower bed this summer. It used to just be grass and up until this weekend it’s been a weed farm since there was no mulch down. I bought my mulch and while I was there they, of course, had mums available. None were as large or as pretty as the ones I’ve seen at Eastern Market in years past but I saw two colors that caught my eye and they were $3 a piece. Granted they’re really small plants but whatever. Mums are perennials and my hope is that for my $6 investment they will grow back huge next year. Mums die down to the ground and grow back up from nothing every year so it doesn’t really matter what size plants I put in. They’ve got the same shot of getting just as big next fall as any other size. Therefore, I’d rather buy a few different varieties and save the money.

Sorry I didn’t take before pictures. I got excited and got to work as soon as I got home from the store. I also bought a lily I thought was a pretty color and you’ll see it in the pictures. All of the other plants you will see below were planted earlier this summer.

The Lily I bought at Home Depot
The Lily I bought at Home Depot
Pretty pink and orange mum plant from Home Depot
Pretty two-tone mum plant from Home Depot
Another Pretty yellow and purple mum plant from Home Depot
Another Pretty Two-Tone mum plant from Home Depot

All three plants remind me of sherbert. They have those pastel mix-y (that’s a word right?) colors. I would still like to add a few more mums and maybe I can get out there this coming Saturday. Here’s the garden area as a whole.

New Garden Bed
New Garden Bed
New Garden Bed
New Garden Bed

If you’re wondering what else is planted in this space I’ve got two pink Phlox plants and two Catmint plants (that supposedly ward off mosquitoes). I have two pepper plants in between the stepping stones that I just put there because they weren’t doing well in pots. I have one purple Alstromeria plant and one peach Alstromeria that seem to by thriving, yayy! There are two orange Asiatic lilies that have lost their blooms already. If you look really closely you’ll see three scraggly Penstemon plants that I just transplanted to this area because they weren’t doing well in the clay soil the rest of my backyard has. They’re the ones that look like weeds lol. We removed as much of the clay we could in this area and put in fresh top soil and peat moss so MAYBE we’ll have some success with plants LIVING in this area. (Here’s hoping!)

What was your Labor Day weekend project?

Leave a Reply

