DIY Spider Door Magnets for Halloween

I’ve never decorated my house for Halloween before. I recently decided that this year I’m going to. YAYYYY!! I’m so excited I can’t stand it. I’ve been wanting to for a few years but to save money I just decided to only decorate for Fall. That way I could leave my decorations up from September until Christmas. The problem with that is 3 months of the same decor bores the S*%^ out of me lol. So this year will be different 🙂 I’m still broke so I’m going to try to make as many decorations as possible, or buy things from the Dollar Store. ENTER MY FIRST HALLOWEEN DIY: Spider Door Magnets.

My inspiration came from Delia and her blog Delia Creates.

I did mine slightly different than she did, but the idea is exactly the same. I started out with a bag of 50 plastic spider rings from the dollar store.

Plastic Spider Rings from the Dollar Store
Plastic Spider Rings from the Dollar Store
I just used normal scissors to cut the ring portion off so I was left with just the spiders. The plastic is very thin so it’s not difficult at all.

Once that was complete I decided to spray paint them. I wanted the orange spiders to be black so it was necessary to paint those. But I also decided to paint the ones that were already black because the plastic was matte and looked dull. I had glossy black spray paint on hand and thought it would glam them up a bit and make them look less “dollar store cheap.” Here you can see the difference between the glossy black painted spiders on the left and the way they looked originally on the right.

Painting the Plastic Spiders with Glossy Black Spray Paint
Painting the Plastic Spiders with Glossy Black Spray Paint

I painted the tops of the spiders and when they were dry turned them over and painted the underside so that none of the original orange color would show from any angle. It was hot out so these dried in minutes.

Once they were completely dried I went to work gluing some magnets on the back. Unfortunately I was unable to find any magnets smaller than the .5 size I already had on hand so I just used what I had. The bright side is that you don’t notice the magnets at all because they’re black and the spiders are black. Also because the magnets are round they just look like they’re part of the body of the spider. I bought these magnets at Michael’s last summer for a DIY fishing project I made for my neices and nephews and I already had the paint so this project literally only cost me $1.

Gluing Magnets on the Backs of the Spiders
Gluing Magnets on the Backs of the Spiders

DIY Magnet Door Spiders
DIY Magnet Door Spiders
DIY Magnet Door Spiders
DIY Magnet Door Spiders

DIY Magnetic Door Spiders
DIY Magnetic Door Spiders

Here you can see a close up of what the spiders look like with the magnet glued on. Disregard the glue string in the picture, I didn’t notice it at the time lol.

DIY Magnetic Door Spider
DIY Magnetic Door Spider

Now, immediately after I glued the magnets on I threw them in a ziplock bag to store them. When I opened them up to stick them on my door today to take pictures for y’all I noticed that some of the orange spiders paint had chipped off. This actually doesn’t bother me because I kind of think it makes the spiders look more real. However, if you don’t like the way this looks you may want to consider using paint made for use on plastic or possibly try priming them ahead of time. Mine are already made so…C’est La Vie. I should get a few years of use out of them before they start looking to bad to put out.

Paint Chipping from Spiders
Paint Chipping from Spiders

I still have about 15 or so spiders that I didn’t magnetize because I ran out of magnets but I think I’m going to just use them around the house in other ways to decorate. You can use these magnetized spiders on anything magnetic so use your imagination and stick them on window frames, appliances or whatever you have that will work.

–Robin

Leave a Reply

