Foyer Gallery Wall Update with Vintage Frames

Hi Everyone!! Today I worked on my collage wall a bit. I’m happy with the way it’s shaping up so far, especially considering that all of the frames I added this time were FREE (other than one that I bought for Luca’s gender reveal party back in May.) I still need to pick out pictures and print them to add to the frames but I wanted to get the frames OUT of the plastic storage bin that was cluttering up my foyer and onto the wall.

I plan to paint and stain a few of the frames also but I wanted to get them up on the wall before I decided how I wanted to finish them. I think it’s important in a collage wall to bounce the colors/finishes/textures around throughout the collage. I wanted to balance oval frames with rectangle, simpler frames with more textured ones, wood with metallics and large with small. Now that I have a these hung up on the wall I can decide how to finish them to balance colors as well.

Here is the way the foyer looked before:

Foyer Collage Wall Before
Foyer Collage Wall Before

Here are the pictures of how it looks today:

Photo Collage Wall
Photo Collage Wall
Photo Collage Wall
Photo Collage Wall
Photo Collage Wall
Photo Collage Wall

Close Up of Some Frames on the Right of the Collage
Close Up of Some Frames on the Right of the Collage
I love this oval frame. The little gold ring on the top is what sold me. You just don’t find frames that look like this in stores today. Hell, I couldn’t find ANY round frames in stores that I could hang on the wall at all. The only ones I saw in stores were meant to be table top frames only so I was stoked to find this one. The flowers were already inside. I kind of like them so I’ll keep that in the frame until all the others have pictures and at that point maybe I’ll change it out. The little silver tone frame was also super exciting for me. I have this thing about “dirty metal” (as I call it). It’s sort of tarnished, slightly discolored but still has that pretty shine without being overwhelming. Sometimes new metal frames look a bit jarring to me. Like WOAHHH shiney. Not only that but those Whoa shiney frames don’t seem to blend as well with frames that are more rustic or have wood elements to them and obviously my collage wall has those elements.

Wood Frame in Collage Wall
Wood Frame in Collage Wall
This frame had a country style tin punched thing inside of it with a dusty blue matting. (gag). I couldn’t leave it in the frame until I printed a picture so I saved it so when I DO have a picture I have a backing to hold it in place. But for now it will sit empty. I plan to sand this frame and stain it gray but I need to take a trip to the store for the stain.

Large Gray JoAnn Fabrics Frame
Large Gray JoAnn Fabrics Frame
The large frame I bought at JoAnn Fabrics for Luca’s gender reveal party and I got it on clearance for around $14 I believe. I spray painted the back with chalk paint and wrote different pregnancy wive’s tales on it and circled which symptoms I had and whether they cooresponded to a boy or a girl. Just in case you’re interested…I had way more “girl” symptoms than boy so the wive’s tales are obviously not true. I knew when I bought the frame that I was going to add it to the collage wall so I saved the matting and everything to put back in it. I have two pictures in mind for this frame. One of my husband and I from our wedding, or another of me and my husband on the beach with him kissing my belly.

The oval frames on either side of the gray frame match each other. They actually had some knitted rug type thing inside of them (hideous). I threw the rugs out and they were a decent thickness so you may notice that the backing has some space between that and the frame. I’ll have to figure out a way to tighten that up when I have pictures in mind for them. I think I’m going to paint these frames black, or dark charcoal gray. There’s some slight gold accents in the frame which I’d like to keep so I’ll probably hand paint them instead of spray painting them.

Here are the last of the frames.

Two new frames on the left of the collage wall
Two new frames on the left of the collage wall
I definitely want to change the bottom frame but I’m not sure how I want to paint it or stain it yet. Maybe gray stain again? I don’t know, let me know what you suggest. I eventually plain the paint the walls in this room a warm gray shade and the trim off-white. I think the oval gold frame is a little too gold for me so I may try to rub some stain over it to tone it down a bit or I could paint over the entire thing. Let me know your thoughts on that.

The collage wall isn’t done but I the only other free frames I had were small ones and I don’t want to put too many teeny ones in there. So when I find some larger scale ones to fill in I may be able to add the smaller ones around it but for now I’m done.

Let me know your suggestions on changing my new frames up…I think I’d like to stick with off-white, gold, black and gray for the color palate though. ‘Til nex time!!

–Robin

Leave a Reply

