Spring/ Summer Kitchen Decor 2014

I spent almost no money to decorate my kitchen for Spring and Summer.

Spring/Summer Kitchen Decor 2014
Spring/Summer Kitchen Decor 2014

Here is my table decor for Summer.

Spring/Summer Table Decor
Spring/Summer Table Decor
I started with these placemats that I already had and I’m absolutely in LOVE with the colors and pattern in them. The pictures may not accurately depict their true color but they’re super soft in tone and color and shout SPRING to me.
Paisley Placemats from Home Goods
Paisley Placemats from Home Goods
The oil rubbed bronze napkin rings I bought from Bed Bath and Beyond with a gift certificate I had from my wedding around Fall. I don’t have any other napkin rings and didn’t want to spend any money on new ones this season so I thought I’d see if they would work and I happen to think they do. The khaki colored napkins are also from Home Goods and JOY they came in a set of 6 for under $10. They actually say “Bon Appetit” in black on one side which DOES NOT work with the Spring/Summer look I was trying to acheive but no problem because I just put that facing down! Haha, hey…why not?

Now for the Captain’s Seats.

Captain's Chair Place Setting
Captain’s Chair Place Setting
The pale green rectangular placement is actually my husband’s from his bachelor days. Yes, this placemat is OVER 7 years old and is still beautiful. He only has two of them (the other two he had coordinated with the solid ones but had some ugly peaches and weird colors that I personally didn’t find appealling. I put those up for sale in our garage sale for 50 cents a peice and they didn’t sell) lol. Anyway, the pale green in his placemats actually does not MATCH my paisley placemats but it doesn’t matter. They’re all so pale in color that you would never know they don’t match unless you put them right on top of one another to compare. Besides, having a mixture of colors is what adds some interest. On the same note, the khaki of the napkins doesn’t match the paisley either and yet it all works. I found though, that the plain placemats needed a little something. So at Home Goods I found a set of two woven placemats I decided to layer over the green ones. It adds some texture and I love using natural materials when decorating my house. Natural materials typically don’t go out of style and won’t look cheap (even if they are).

My centerpiece is a rectangular vase that was a wedding present from Crate and Barrel that we filled with some limes. And the bonus is that we always have limes on hand for drinks on the patio with our neighbors 🙂

Crate and Barrel Vase filled with Limes
Crate and Barrel Vase filled with Limes
Easy, inexpensive…done and done.

I realize my table is a bit bare. Eventually I’d like to buy some pretty stoneware cream plates with a textured rim that look somewhat vintagey and maybe some vintage china or something to layer in. I’ve also had my eyes on some silver serving trays at some of my favorite flea markets but I haven’t had the money to spend on it yet. Once I buy one of those trays I plan to put it on the table, off centered and pile it high with pretty spring decor items. Until then, simple is the way I’m going.

Something I’ve recently learned from all of my friends with children is that the less items you decorate with that they can reach, the better. So, I’ve been trying to focus new purchases on wall art. I, personally, have a hard time finding wall art that I like so when I DO find it I buy it. Over my pantry doors I’ve hung this decorative, distressed wall hanging. It looks old and I find that charming, but really it would go in contemporary decor as well. And if you have a Home Goods near your house they had a TON of these at mine and they’re only $40. Bonus is that it’s HUGE so it covers a lot of wall space for not a lot of money and would go with any color scheme you happen to have in your home. Plus, it draws your eye up to the ceiling which I think makes the room feel larger.

Home Goods Wall Hanging
Home Goods Wall Hanging
Wall Art from Home Goods
Wall Art from Home Goods

The two smaller frames are also from Home Goods. The matting is mirror which reflects all of the light from our doorwall throughout the room. I absolutely ADORE the fact that they have French writing on them because I took French in High School and fell in love with it. Even more so, I love that it translates to “The House of the Beautiful Gardener,” as I’ve been doing a lot of work in the garden with this house and my Grandmother spent alot of time in her garden which makes me think of her. Not to mention they have birds on them which also make me think of my Grandmother (she’s no longer with me) and they make me smile. DSC_0636

Continuing left,

Hobby Lobby Candlesticks
Hobby Lobby Candlesticks
I spent $6 on the small black wood floor candlestick from my neighbor Paige’s garage sale. She happened to have the same exact candle sticks as me and her large one broke and my small one broke so she was selling her small one since she no longer had the set. So it was a victory for me because that little baby retails for $40 at Hobby Lobby 🙂 Thanks Paige!

I almost always have fresh flowers in my house.

Island Centerpiece
Island Centerpiece
Both my husband and myself make it a point to buy them which is nice. These are from Costco. I love Costco roses because they’re almost always beautiful and you get two dozen for around $16. I also frequently buy flowers from the Kroger near me. I can get three bunches of Alstromeria for $12 and Alstromeria will last around 3 weeks in a vase.

Next to my stove I’m using a large soup tureen to hold my kitchen utensils.

Meijer Soup Tureen
Meijer Soup Tureen
I find the holders that are actually MEANT for kitchen utensils are too small to hold much and are usually really basic in their styling. I liked the shape and creamy color of this one (it came with a lid that I’m just storing). The opening is super wide and holds a TON of utensils. It’s from the same line that I bought the cream vase in my entry way so when I move that vase into the kitchen they coordinate.

To the left of my stove I have an antique iron candle holder that I bought at an antique store awhile ago. It’s been painted with a cream paint and some of the paint wiped away so the natural iron shows through. It’s SUPER HEAVY but gorgeous. Then I have some flowers from the flower arrangement that used to be on the island but most of the flowers were dying and these were the few that remained so I just made a smaller arrangement for the sink area.

Antique Iron Candle Holder
Antique Iron Candle Holder

This beautiful wash basin is an antique I inherited from my Aunt Jan who passed away this year. It’s China that dates back to the 1800s and is in excellent condition. I had almost bought one just like this that came with a black metal stand at an antique store but didn’t end up buying it and then I saw this when we were going through her house. Now I have something beautiful that I would have bought anyway and is so much more special and meaningful because it reminds me of her. I just think they’re beautiful and classic and they’re stunning on their own or filled with flowers.

Antique China Wash Basin
Antique China Wash Basin

This area next to my doorwall has all items from Hobby Lobby.

Hobby Lobby Decor
Hobby Lobby Decor
Click on the images to see them larger. I believe the candlesticks were around $150 for the pair. I have them out all year and just replace the filler around the candles. I used moss here from Michael’s. The picture on the wall I actually thought was on sale when I bought it for $15 but it turns out it wasn’t and I didn’t realize until I got home and looked at my receipt that I paid full price. I probably wouldn’t have bought it if I didn’t think it was on sale but the black brings out the black in the other accents around the room and the base of my tressle table.

Overall, not bad for the only new things in the room being the moss, woven placemats, limes, flowers and cloth napkins 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

–Robin

Leave a Reply

