Review of Alstromeria from Roberta’s Unique Growers

Hey Everyone, I bought 4 piece set of Alstromeria from Roberta’s Unique Growers off of QVC. The photo to the left is the ACTUAL bloom of the “Sweet Laura” alstromeria that I received. The photo on the right is the picture of what Roberta’s claims I should have received. In case the colors don’t translate well the one I have is white/pink with some yellow accents. The one in the picture is a mustard yellow with orange accents. I have to say that I actually prefer the color that I received over what I should have gotten.

Photo on the left is the ACTUAL bloom of the plant I received vs the photo to the right (what Roberta's claims they sent.)
Photo on the left is the ACTUAL bloom of the plant I received vs the photo to the right (what Roberta’s claims they sent.)

AND…the other two alstromeria I ordered don’t match their color claim EITHER. Here is a photo of the Mauve Majesty that I ACTUALLY received…

Mauve Majesty ACTUAL bloom
Mauve Majesty ACTUAL bloom

VERSES, the photo on QVC’s website of what Mauve Majesty will look like. Notice this alstromeria is purely white and pink, and the alstromeria I received has yellow in it. I actually like the photo of their claim better than the ones I received.

The photo on QVC's website of what Mauve Majesty will look like.
The photo on QVC’s website of what Mauve Majesty will look like.

I have to say that I do find it to be a poor business practice to SAY you’re getting one thing, and then another shows up. I posted the discrepancy on Roberta’s Facebook page but I have not heard back from them.

Not to mention, the alstromeria they sent has taken FOREVER to bloom. It’s the end of July and I’m still waiting for blooms on my 4th Alstromeria plant. Who knows what color that will turn out to be. Overall, if low price is what you’re after…these averaged out to be $7.81 per plant and the ones I bought my mother at a local nursery this summer were $15 each. However, the ones at the nursery all had several blooms, were full, came in a large pot and looked very healthy. Mine on the other hand are just starting to grow, just got their blooms after 3 months of waiting (Michigan’s summers are NOT long). And, they did not look healthy at all when they arrived. The stems flopped over and were yellow and they came in a very small pot.

If I ever decide to buy alstromeria again in other colors (which I’m sure I will because I LOVE IT!!) I’m going with the nursery. That way I will ensure I get the colors I want and will have healthy, already established plants with no guessing.

Have you ever ordered plants from Roberta’s?

Leave a Reply

