Project: Kitchen Upgrades!

So, I’m finally getting around to posting about all of my fun little kitchen projects. But before I show you what I’ve been doing, you have to see where we’ve come from.

Kitchen Before
Kitchen Before
Kitchen Before
Kitchen Before

Now, both pictures were taken before we got appliances which was a project all in itself. We decided to go with all LG after alot of research. We even had to return the original fridge we bought for a smaller version because it was way too deep for our kitchen and looked silly sticking out so far from the cabinets.

My next project was a table and chairs. Soooo, the hunt began. After ALOT of searching we bought our table from Gormans. We were able to customize it so the base of the tressel table was a lightly distressed black finish and a stained wood table top. The table has self storing leaves on both ends so when it’s folded up it’s around 80 inches and opened up it’s probably around 5 feet longer than that. Unfortunately my kitchen is actually too small for me to even open up ONE of the leaves so unless we move those will never see the light of day lol. The chairs that were meant to “go” with the table were very formal looking. I really wanted something with a square back, upholstry that could be wiped down (we’re planning on having children soon) and nailhead detail. My husband and I actually found the chairs we bought at Art Van and they match the table perfectly!! Only downside was that assembly WAS required. That was sort of annoying but it gave me a chance to feel like I was handy.

Our new table and chairs!!
Our new table and chairs!!

Our new table and Chairs
Our new table and Chairs

Then around March of this year we added a backsplash. I wasn’t sure what I wanted at first. I know travertine is very popular and would have been the “safe” choice for my neighborhood since alot of my neighbors have that and I’ve seen what it looks like and know that it works. However, because my neighborhood has alot of “cookie cutter” houses that all have very similar features I wanted to do something different than all of them. Every tile store we went to had the glass mosaic tile. There were alot of 1×1 square glass tiles. I had my heart set on small rectangle shaped tile though. I didn’t like any of the glass tiles I found that were that shape. We looked and looked for months and nothing was “special” enough. I should mention that I found a tile even better than the one we ended up using but unfortunately it was $80/sq ft and therefore NOT and option lol. But I was able to find this glass tile that has some travertine, marble, glass and some of the glass peices are cracked on the backside (they’re totally smooth from the front). But it gave me that little extra sparkle I was looking for. I realize tile that appears cracked may not be for everyone. However, I love that it’s different and it catches the light.

Tile Sample
Tile Sample

This is the backspash partially finished (before grout)
This is the backspash partially finished (before grout)

Close up of the finished tile. Can you see the cracked glass?)
Close up of the finished tile. Can you see the cracked glass?

My kitchen now :)
My kitchen now đŸ™‚

My kitchen now
My kitchen now

If you look at the chandelier above my table you’ll notice we changed that too. The one we have currently was a Christmas gift from my husband’s mother that we took with us from our condo when we moved. The black of the chandelier matches our counters and our table so I think it all works well together.

Even after all of these changes there are still more to come with my kitchen. I am currently putting up window treatments and in the process of looking for valances for the top of the windows. I haven’t found anything pre-made in the stores so I may have to just buy some fabric and make my own. I’m itching to paint the walls in there too but I want to wait until I know what I’m putting on the windows before I commit to a color.

Leave a Reply

