Adventures in Gardening: New Blooms Opened Up!!

All of my climbing roses are in bloom now. Once again these are all roses I purchased on QVC from Cottage Farms. I bought them without really knowing exactly how they would look so I’m very pleased with these two climbing roses. The first is “Blaze.” It’s a deep red climbing rose. I planted it right up against my house with a 6 foot black wire trellis behind it. It hasn’t done too much “climbing” yet. It’s approximately 2 feet tall right now.

Blaze climbing rose partially opened
Blaze climbing rose partially opened

and here it is fully opened….

Blaze climbing rose fully opened up.
Blaze climbing rose fully opened up.

Then there’s my Angel Face climbing rose. This little beauty was supposed to be lavender. Although it looks alot more like pink to me. No matter though because the flowers are heavily petalled and that’s what I look for in a flower. I don’t like to see the “center” or the pollen part of a rose, only petals. So this one does the trick.

Angel Face climbing rose fully bloomed
Angel Face climbing rose fully bloomed

We just recently got our landscaping beds put in so I’ll post some pictures of that soon. I ended up planting Angel Face on one side of a black metal Arbor we bought and I put my gold climbing rose on the other side. Angel Face is also probably around 2 feet tall right now.

Off of the subject of roses…..

My hydrangeas have been blooming for a few weeks but I haven’t posted about it! So here is a picture of one of them.

Blooming hydrangea
Blooming hydrangea

This was also a QVC, Cottage farms purchase. I bought 6 of them. I think all have bloomed but one of them so far. The leaves of some are getting some black or darkness to them. Not sure if this is normal or the start of a disease. I may sprinkle some powder I bought on them just to be sure.

And….The latest to bloom of my flowers has been my Alstromeria!!! These were also a QVC purchase but they were from Roberta’s growers. I’m so excited about these because they were looking a little dead for awhile (yellow and droopy). I was not confident they would make it at all. I bought two pink and two of something else (either yellow or orange). I can’t remember and those haven’t bloomed yet so we shall see lol. The reason for my excitement about the Alstromeria is that this is one of my FAVORITE cut flowers. I buy three bunches of them for around $12 total from Kroger all the time and they literally will last 3 weeks in a vase. They just don’t quit. So I was hoping I could plant some and then cut my own bunches of flowers šŸ™‚ So here it is…

Blooming Pink Alstromeria
Blooming Pink Alstromeria

I’ve been stalking my “Mon Cheri” rose for awhile. I has three buds on it about to open up any time now. We’ve had alot of rain though lately and I’m afraid that’s what’s keeping them from opening up. I will post the pictures of that once they’re open. I can’t tell if it’s going to be pink or red yet…perhaps a little of both! We shall see….

Leave a Reply

